Fellowsoldier EP – “Heal Me” Song Backstory

This song features the beautiful voice of Megan Chiree.

What Had Happen Was

I was just on my way to church one Sunday. July 9th to be exact. And the church van picked up Megan. So we talked along the way. We ended up sitting together for Service, which was great. Then it was back on the van heading home.

Well I invited Megan to my house after church to hang out. We had a great time just listening to music, talking, and her eating all my candy lol. But for real, Megan was the very first person to hear the whole Fellowsoldier EP before anyone else. Her reviews gave me great encouragement by the way.

So she was just so shocked at my music and everything we got going on at LightMusick.com that it was a complete surprise to her and something she’d never have suspected from me being a person she just met on a church van.

Her Vocals

I told Megan I had one more song to record and the project would be complete. I was actually waiting on another singer that same day to do that. But it didn’t work out. So Megan ended up singing the wonderful song we recorded together. See how GOD works. Won’t HE do it!

Megan and I rehersed the lyrics a few times first. I gave her the melody and she ran with it. She had been in the church choir as an alto singer so this was nothing new to her at all. Megan did her part in one take. I made a few technical adjustments then did my part and the song was finished. The best part of the whole process was listening to and watching her reactions as she played back her own vocals. I had to take a picture to capture that moment. Awesome…

Song Breakdown

“Heal Me” is basically a prayer to the LORD on behalf of the world from me. And JESUS says in the Bible: For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them. MATTHEW 18:20 K.J.V. Amen. So Megan and I coming together was perfect for this.

It’s also about how sometimes you have to cry out to GOD to get HIS attention even though HE is always listening. And pray specifically for whatever it is that you need at that time.

The beat is produced by Ty Rose. A very sentimental sound. It caught me in an instant. And I began writing to it. We feel like it was the perfect way to end the Fellowsoldier Project with an original gospel where you get to experience Megan Chiree sing for maybe the first time and even hear us do a duet at the end.

This is one of those songs I can really see being sang in churches around the world. It’s a powerful song that can heal and comfort everyone because GOD is faithful.

Stream or Purchase

 Available in iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, Amazon, Tidal and other digital music stores.

Listen

Final Thoughts

I appreciate everyone who took time to read my latest posts about each song on the Fellowsoldier EP and taking time to listen to my work. I’m so thankful to be able to create music for GOD and believers as well as non-believers alike. Thanks so much!!!

As always be safe, be blessed, and be happy. Please Share, Like, and/or Comment. Thanks again for your support.

Love,

David Gift

P.S. Fellowsoldier is a Biblical word. It means co-campaigner. Someone who assists. A helper.

Leave a Reply

