Fellowsoldier EP – “I See YOU” Song Backstory

I see GOD in Everything

That’s the message in the song “I See YOU” on the Fellowsoldier EP. This was also one of the 11 songs released earlier this year. And it was the second most played. From that statistic and how the Holy Spirit led us we had to put it on this project.

Song Essentials

On this tune I immediately claim my home town Pittsburgh, PA in the opening lyrics. “I’m from Pittsburgh where we rock P caps. We don’t give dap. Just G slaps. A misfit from the Hill District…” As an independent Christian Hip Hop artist I always want to pay homage to my roots. Especially my birth place. Although I grew up in Tampa Bay, FL I still consider the Burgh home. Tampa is my second home and Atlanta is where I reside currently. I got love for them all.

I try to express how one can see GOD in all aspects of life. Even tragedies. The Scripture that supports this is ISAIAH 55:8-9 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. K.J.V. Amen.

In the line “… Entered the Kingdom as a foreigner. HE welcomed me with open arms…” I’m just telling my journey and my testimony in a different way. Meaning I had to become born again to inherit Eternal Life which JESUS gives freely to anyone. And that along with my perspective as to how you can see GOD in your life is what this song is about. You may not always understand, but keep the faith.

Surprise surprise! I’m singing on this one. Yup yup you can hear me hold a few notes in the chorus, which says “LORD LORD LORD I see YOU. Yes I do. Yes I do…” It was fun coming up with those lyrics and that melody.

The beat is produced by Young Taylor. It’s dope. The vibe is just so different. It was SO different that it compelled me to sing and be even more creative. I wrote this song in like 10 minutes on my smartphone. And even though it was complete I was in such a groove and flow that I didn’t want to stop writing! First time for everything.

We recorded this record in my home studio as well. The beauty of being an independent artist is total freedom. At least at this stage. And I thoroughly enjoy that.

Stream or Purchase

Available in iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, Amazon, Tidal and other digital music stores.

Listen

 

As always be safe, be blessed and be happy. Please Share, Like, and/or Comment.

Love,

David Gift

P.S. Fellowsoldier is a Biblical word. It means co-campaigner. Someone who assists. A helper.

Leave a Reply

