Fellowsoldier EP – “Love, Sacrifice, & Memories” Song Backstory

As we ran the promotion campaign this year to increase awareness about the Fellowsoldier EP which is OUT NOW, we released 11 singles. One of those was “LORD Have Mercy.” In that song was the line “…I see life differently. It’s all about love, sacrifice, and memories…” And that single phrase birthed the “Love, Sacrifice, & Memories” song.

This song was also one of those 11 released earlier this year. And because of it being the 4th most played song, along with the great response it received, we had to include it on the Fellowsoldier EP.

Song Fundamentals

The song obviously touches on 3 main points: love, sacrifice, and memories. And how I feel these 3 things are what life is all about.

So with love I open the first verse up with the line “Love, is an action word so they say. HE gone love you anyway, any way…” This dismantles that old saying that is so cliche and familiar to everyone. My spin on it is from a spiritual perspective. GOD loves us all regardless of what we do or don’t do. GOD is love.

There’s a Scripture about this. ROMANS 8:38-39 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. K.J.V. Amen. This Scripture explains why the love of JESUS CHRIST is always with us.

That is just one of the points I make in the first verse. I also say how “…I feel real love is flawless. Polished. Even as a novice. Knows no bounds. Holds no frowns…” Just saying how precious genuine love is to me. I go on to mention my love for my mother, Ann Moses, and my brothers Andre and David. And I just give more examples of love in my life.

I finish with the line “JESUS died, came back gave motivation. That’s a real agape type of love situation.” In the Bible there are 3 types of love: Eros (desire and longing), Agape (the divine-love of the Lord towards his Son Jesus Christ, the human beings and all believers), and Philos (like love for a companion or pal). When JESUS died on the cross and sacrificed HIS life to end death so that all who believe in HIM can have Eternal Life HE demonstrated the highest level of love for mankind ever possible. And that’s how I express that and transition into the sacrifice point more in the second verse.

One of the lines I say speaking about the salvation JESUS gives to us is “…So that’s the example we use when trying to choose. Between yourself and others. Sacrifice that pleasure for another…” Next I touch on the memories point directly after this saying “…Now you got something to hold on. A memory to fold on. Roll on…” Saying how it feels good to give and spread love. Every time you do that you can always revisit that feeling in thought. Memories are priceless. The good and bad ones. They help us grow. We live and we learn. Then we live some more based off how we’ve hopefully changed for the better.

Instrumental

This beat was produced by Skeyez. I heard it and just was taken back by how mellow it was. I thought to myself I gotta say something real on this. So that’s what happened. I wrote this song on my phone using the QuickMemo+ app. I’m versatile as to how I write. I started out just being pen and pad. That has evolved to using my smartphone or even my laptop. And sometimes I don’t even need anything. I’ll just memorize lyrics as I come up with them until the whole song is complete including the hook.

Final Thoughts

The apology at the end is for my cousin Reese. That’s the gist of the song. Take a listen to it and tell me what you think.

Stream or Purchase

Available in iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, Amazon, Tidal and other digital music stores.

Listen

As always be safe, be blessed and be happy. Please Share, Like, and/or Comment.

Love,

David Gift

P.S.

Fellowsoldier is a Biblical word. It means co-campaigner. Someone who assists. A helper.

Leave a Reply

